MO logo.jpg

Branchenauszeichnungen

Aufnahme in die Hall of Fame von Coober Pedy Opal Industries

John Provatidis wurde als einer der ursprünglichen Opalbergleute und für seinen Beitrag zur Opalindustrie in die Coober Pedy Hall of Fame aufgenommen.


Veröffentlichung des einzigen Sicherheitshandbuchs für den Opalbergbau

Majestic Opals wurde von der südaustralischen Regierung ausgewählt, um Sicherheitsmaßnahmen in den Opalfeldern zu erforschen und zu entwickeln. Dies führte zur Produktion eines Sicherheitsbuchs und eines Videos in vier Sprachen, die von allen südaustralischen Bergleuten verwendet werden. Das Projekt wurde 1999 von der South Australian Resources Industry mit einem Judges Citation Award ausgezeichnet.

Branchenbekanntheit

Sophia Provatidis konzipierte und kreierte das Australian Opal Dress für das zweite Australian Opal Symposium. Die Opalbergarbeiter spendeten alle Opale für das Kleid, das im South Australian Museum untergebracht ist und auf großen Opalausstellungen auf der ganzen Welt gezeigt wird. Die australische Pole-Volt-Olympionistin Tatiana Grigorieva präsentierte das maßgeschneiderte Kleid auf dem Opal-Symposium. DIES IST EIGENTLICH RUSSISCHES MODELL IM ROTEN QUADRAT. IN TATIANTA EINSETZEN.

WURDE EINIGE JAHRE IM SOUTH AUTRALIAN MUSEUM AUSGESTELLT.

Branchenmitgliedschaft

Seit 1998 - Club der Exporteure
Seit 1996 - Australian American Association
Seit 1994 - Asia-Pacific Business Council for Women Inc
Seit 1981 - Australian Gem & Opal Industry Association
Seit 2010 - Australian Mined Australian Made Brand Association

Tatiana Opal Dress_edited.jpg

Tatiana Grigorieva trägt das opalbesetzte Kleid von Sophia.

Screen Shot 2021-08-11 at 1.34.00 pm.png
Truck 6.jpg
Truck full of opals gift for prince.jpeg
Truck full of opals.png

2014 schenkten Sophia und John Provatidis Baby Prinz George bei einem Besuch in Australien einen leuchtend roten Spielzeuglaster voller Opale. Kurz darauf erhielten Sophia und John einen Brief vom Kensington Palace, in dem sie sich von Herzen bedankten.

Screen Shot 2019-10-10 at 11.05.40 AM.png
tooth minister sophia john.png

 

Der einzige bekannte versteinerte Kronosaurus-Zahn!

Der einzige bekannte versteinerte Opal-Kronosaurierzahn wird für Generationen in Südafrika bleiben, nachdem Sophia und John Provatidis ihn dem südaustralischen Museum zur Ausstellung in ihrer Opal Fossil Gallery gespendet haben. Sophia & John haben in den 1980er Jahren den Zahn aus ihrer Coober Pedy Opal-Mine abgebaut und ihn 30 Jahre lang sicher aufbewahrt, ohne seine Bedeutung zu kennen.

MO logo.jpg

Industry Awards

Inducted into the Coober Pedy Opal Industries' Hall of Fame

John Provatidis was selected to be inducted into the Coober Pedy Hall of fame, as one of the original opal miners, and for his contribution to the Opal Industry.


Published the only Opal Mining Safety Handbook

Majestic Opals was chosen by the South Australian Government to research and develop Safety measures in the opal fields. This resulted in the production of a safety book and video in four languages used by all South Australian miners. The project won a Judges Citation Award in 1999 from the South Australian Resources Industry, and now this Mining Safety Handbook is widely used in the industry.

Industry Notoriety

Sophia Provatidis conceptualized and created the Australian Opal Dress, for the second Australian Opal Symposium. The opal miners donated all the opals for the dress, which is housed at the South Australian Museum, and is shown at major opal exhibitions around the world. Australian pole volt Olympian Tatiana Grigorieva showcased the bespoke dress at the Opal Symposium.

Then, during Australia Week in 2005, Majestic Opals held the largest Australian trade promotion ever held in Russia. The South Australian gemstone company paraded a unique opal-encrusted gown to admiring onlookers. Nothing can match the beauty of Australia Opals, particularly when a gorgeous Ukrainian model is walking through Moscow's Red Square in a A$500,000 dress studded with opals.

Tatiana Opal Dress_edited.jpg

Ukrainian model wearing the opal-laden dress designed by Sophia Provatidis.

Screen Shot 2021-08-11 at 1.34.00 pm.png
Truck 6.jpg
Truck full of opals gift for prince.jpeg
Truck full of opals.png

In 2014, Sophia and John Provatidis presented His Royal Highness Prince George with a gleaming red toy truck full of opals during a visit to Australia. Shortly afterward Sophia and John received a letter from Kensington Palace communicating a heart-felt thanks.

Screen Shot 2019-10-10 at 11.05.40 AM.png
tooth minister sophia john.png

 

 

The only fossilised Kronosaurus tooth known to exist!

The only known opalised fossil of a Kronosaur tooth will stay in SA for generations to come after Sophia & John Provatidis donated it to the South Australian Museum for display in their Opal Fossil Gallery. Sophia & John mined the tooth from their Coober Pedy Opal mine in the 1980s and kept it safe for 30 years not knowing its significance.